LAUNCH SCHEDULE

Please see our Launch Site Maps page for maps and directions to our Federal Road, Rip Rap Road, and Lowry Road fields, as well as some of our neighboring clubs whose events appear in our schedule.

Our onsite  motor vendor is Merlin Missile Solutions. If you have a special need (including high power motors, reloads or casings), please contact Lee Berry well in advance of the launch at 937-232-1240 or lee.berry@merlinmissiles.com . 

Dates in italics are nearby opportunities to launch away from our fields, or events where WSR is not the presenting sponsor. WSR is not responsible for the accuracy or timeliness of this information; please consult the host organization for the latest updates.

Archive of past events and flight reports can be found here.

TUESDAY NIGHT LIVE!!!
You can join us virtually for Build Night by using this link:
https://zoom.us/j/429159732?pwd=dzVuVStKNXZ1QnhFcklxeXpMZHdjQT09

2022 Dates

* Proposed or tentative event

January 1 (Sat) – HPR Sport Launch CANCELED
Due to rain and field conditions.

January 16 (Sun) – HPR Sport Launch NOTE NEW DATE
Federal Rd. Field. 11am-5pm.

Jaunary 28-30 (Fri-Sun) – vNARCON 2022
Virtual

January 29 (Sat) – HPR Sport Launch NOTE NEW TIME
Federal Rd. Field. 11am-3pm. Due to weather and vNARCON involvement, we plan to shut down early at 3pm.

February 12 (Sat) – HPR Sport Launch CANCELED
Due to field conditions at both Federal and Rip Rap Rd.

February 26 (Sat) – HPR Sport Launch CANCELED
Due to field conditions.

March 5 (Sat) – Tripoli Mid-Ohio HPR Sport Launch
8345 SR 41, South Charleston, Ohio 45368. 10am-5pm.

March 12 (Sat) – HPR Sport Launch CANCELED
Due to weather.

March 13 (Sun) – Big Hoopla STEM Challenge
Dayton Convention Center. Todd Smith will be leading a WSR contingent for a display and public meet & greet. The event is in the planning stages so if you’re interested in participating, contact Todd, Randy or Dave.

March 19 (Sat) – ROCI HPR Sport Launch
AMA IAC, 5161 E Memorial Dr., Muncie IN. 10am-5pm.

March 19 (Sat) – Tripoli Mid-Ohio HPR Sport Launch
8345 SR 41, South Charleston, Ohio 45368. 10am-5pm.

March 20 (Sun) – ADDED HPR Sport Launch
Federal Rd. Field. 11am-6pm.

March 26 (Sat) – Tripoli Mid-Ohio HPR Sport Launch
8345 SR 41, South Charleston, Ohio 45368. 10am-5pm.

ADDED: March 28 (MON) – HPR Sport Launch
Federal Rd. Field. 11am-6pm. IF YOU ARE A TARC TEAM, we will be doing practice and qualification flights. We will also be flying low and midpower past the 6pm HPR waiver deadline so you have a chance to get to the field and fly.

April 2 (Sat) – Ohio Cup 2022
National Museum of the US Air Force. NOTE: There will be no adult competition this year due to the DoD restrictions; we may have this competition in conjunction with one of our Rip Rap Rd. field launches.

April 3 (Sun) – HPR Sport Launch
Federal Rd. Field. 11am-5pm.

April 10 (Sun) – HPR Sport Launch CANCELED
Due to field conditions.

April 16 (Sat) – ROCI HPR Sport Launch
AMA IAC, 5161 E Memorial Dr., Muncie IN. 10am-5pm.

April 16 (Sat) – Tripoli Mid-Ohio HPR Sport Launch
8345 SR 41, South Charleston, Ohio 45368. 10am-5pm.

April 23 (Sat) – HPR Sport Launch
Federal Rd. Field. 11am-5pm.

April 30 (Sat) – Tripoli Mid-Ohio HPR Sport Launch CANCELED
Canceled by TMO leadership.

May 7 (Sat) – HPR Sport Launch CANCELED
Due to rain

May 14 (Sat) – ROAR/WVSOAR/WSR Sport Launch/Night Launch
Moran-McCaughey Sport Rocket Range, Ripley OH. Arrive for lunch at Chateau Zachman at noon, launch at 1pm, return for pizza dinner around 5pm, then night launch starting at 7pm.

May 14 (Sat) – Tripoli Mid-Ohio HPR Sport Launch
8345 SR 41, South Charleston, Ohio 45368. 10am-5pm.

May 15 (Sun) – Crestview Baptist Church Launch
Crestview Church, 6600 Salem Ave., Clayton OH. Launch starts at 12:30pm This event is being presented by Lee Berry for members of his church and will be run as a typical low-power Class 1 launch.

May 21(Sat) – HPR Sport Launch
Federal Rd. Field. 11am-5pm.

May 21-22 (Sat-Sun) – ROCI HPR Sport Launch Weekend
AMA IAC, 5161 E Memorial Dr., Muncie IN. 10am-5pm.

May 21 (Sat) – Tripoli Mid-Ohio HPR Sport Launch
8345 SR 41, South Charleston, Ohio 45368. 10am-5pm.

ADDED: May 28 (Sat) – Sport Launch
Rip Rap Rd. Field. 11am-5pm.

May 28-30 (Sat-Mon) – NSL 2022
Sumter, SC. Event Director Bobby Weatherford and the members of ROSCO are excited to host you at NSL 2022 starting May 28 and finishing May 30. A host hotel or hotels will be located just 15 minutes away in Sumter, SC. Entrance to site is located at: 34.055858,-80.425288

NSL 2022 will be flying off a brand new sod farm site and will feature a minimum of a 7,000 foot waiver. So, please come enjoy a spectacular launch site and waiver by planning your NSL trip today.
June 4 (Sat) – Sport Launch
Rip Rap Rd. Field. 11am-5pm.
June 11 (Sat) – Rocket FUN Match
Butler County Fairgrounds, Hamilton OH. Event starts at 11am. A fun contest launch for ages 5-18, geared towards 4-H participants but open to the public. Buy and build an Estes Viking from Mark Ponder or the Butler County 4-H Extension Office for $5 (includes one engine) ahead of the event, and then fly it at the FUN Match for a chance at prizes. For more info, contact Mark at 513-304-8944.

June 18 (Sat) – Sport Launch
Rip Rap Rd. Field. 11am-5pm.

June 19 (Sun) – ROCI HPR Sport Launch
AMA IAC, 5161 E Memorial Dr., Muncie IN. 10am-5pm.

July 9 (Sat) – WVSOAR HPR Sport Launch
Vinton County Airport, 11am-5pm. Rain date July 23.

July 10 (Sun) – SORA Sport Launch
Hisey Park, 5443 Middletown Rd., Corwin OH 45068. 1pm-4pm. SORA launches are low and midpower (Class 1 non-waiver) launches.

July 16-17 (Sat-Sun) – Armstrong Museum Summer Moon Festival
Armstrong Air & Space Museum, Wapakoneta, OH. 10am-4pm both days. WSR members may fly demo flights (no higher than B impulse), and are asked to engage with the public as well as run any launches at the direction of the museum for youth participating in their programming.

July 16-22 (Sat-Fri) – NARAM 63
Springfield, MO. NARAM 63 will be have Chad Ring back for another turn as Contest Director. NARAM will be a bit earlier than usual and will run from July 16 – 22, 2022. Chad is being supported by the members of Launch Crue, St. Louis Rocketry Association, and Tripoli Mo-Kan. The scheduled contest events are:

1/4A Streamer Duration*, 1/2A Rocket Glider Duration*, A Helicopter Duration*
A Parachute Duration*, B Altitude*, B Eggloft Altitude*, Sport Scale*
(*denotes 2022 NRC Events)
E Payload Altitude
Open Spot Landing
Research and Development
The contest/sport range is sited in Walnut Grove at the same field used for NARAM 58.
Sport and high power flying will be available for all seven days. A waiver of 15,000 feet is expected. And the US Spacemodeling Team Selection Flyoffs will be held on the opening weekend in preparation for the World Spacemodeling Championships coming to Austin, TX in July of 2023.
The host hotel will be the Oasis Hotel and Convention Center which is located in Springfield, MO. Rooms have been secured at $109/night. Finally, Chad has some great activities planned for young and old alike, so start carving out your vacation time in order to attend NARAM 63!

NEW DATE: August 6 (Sat) – National Museum of the US Air Force Mass Buld/Fly
Setup is 8am, first flight anticipated at 10am, last flight typically around 3:30 or 4pm. Our usual all-hands-on-deck event where we will launch up to 750 rockets on the front lawn of the Museum.

August 6 (Sat) – WVSOAR HPR Sport Launch
Vinton County Airport, 11am-5pm.

August 13 (Sat) – Sport Launch
Rip Rap Rd. Field. 11am-5pm.

August 13 (Sat) – ROCI HPR Sport Launch
AMA IAC, 5161 E Memorial Dr., Muncie IN. 10am-5pm.

August 14 (Sun) – SORA Sport Launch
Hisey Park, 5443 Middletown Rd., Corwin OH 45068. 1pm-4pm.

August 27 (Sat) – Sport Launch
Rip Rap Rd. Field. 11am-5pm.

September 10 (Sat) – Sport Launch
Rip Rap Rd. Field. 11am-5pm.

September 11 (Sun) – SORA Sport Launch
Hisey Park, 5443 Middletown Rd., Corwin OH 45068. 1pm-4pm.

September 17-18 (Sat) – ROCI HPR Sport Launch Weekend
AMA IAC, 5161 E Memorial Dr., Muncie IN. 10am-5pm.

September 19 (Mon) – Cub Scout Pack 74 Launch
Parkwood Elementary School Beavercreek. Starts at 6pm.

September 24 (Sat) – Sport Launch
Rip Rap Rd. Field. 11am-5pm.

October 1 (Sat) – Sport Launch
Rip Rap Rd. Field. 11am-5pm.

October 8 (Sat) – WVSOAR Joe Grubb Memorial Launch
Vinton County Airport, 11am-5pm. Rain date October 22.

October 9 (Sun) – SORA Sport Launch
Hisey Park, 5443 Middletown Rd., Corwin OH 45068. 1pm-4pm.

October 15 (Sat) – ROCI HPR Sport Launch
AMA IAC, 5161 E Memorial Dr., Muncie IN. 10am-5pm.

October 22 (Sat) – Sport Launch
Rip Rap Rd. Field. 11am-5pm.

November 5 (Sat) – ROCI HPR Sport Launch
AMA IAC, 5161 E Memorial Dr., Muncie IN. 10am-5pm.

November 5 (Sat) – WVSOAR HPR Sport Launch
Vinton County Airport, 11am-5pm.

November 12 (Sat) – HPR Sport Launch
Federal Rd. Field. 11am-5pm.

November 19 (Sat) – HPR Sport Launch
Federal Rd. Field. 11am-5pm.

November 19 (Sat) – SORA Sport Launch
Hisey Park, 5443 Middletown Rd., Corwin OH 45068. 1pm-4pm.

November 26 (Sat) – HPR Sport Launch
Federal Rd. Field. 11am-5pm.

December 3 (Sat) – HPR Sport Launch
Federal Rd. Field. 11am-5pm.

December 11 (Sun) – SORA Sport Launch
Hisey Park, 5443 Middletown Rd., Corwin OH 45068. 1pm-4pm.

December 17 (Sat) – HPR Sport Launch
Federal Rd. Field. 11am-5pm.

Share