NAR Town Hall

NAR President John Hochheimer called the meeting to order at 8:00 PM Eastern Time on August 9, 2023.

Forty NAR members were present at the beginning of the meeting.

Safety

John said that safety is still the NAR's highest priority. Our safety record directly affects our ability to obtain insurance, as well as the price of our premium. John advised the membership to plan for trouble and be ready to handle it. John emphatically reminded attendees not to fly during burn bans, and to be aware of where rockets are coming down and be ready to adjust rod angles as necessary.

Social Media Survey

John announced that the NAR is doing a poll of social media influencers for our hobby. We are trying to determine who our hobby's social media influencers are, so that we can work with them to improve our social media presence. We will have a drawing of participants to select one for a free one-year membership. The poll is in the meeting chat, on our website home page, and at https://www.nar.org/social-media-poll/

Trustee Lynn Thomas moved to open the business meeting. Becky Green seconded. Motion passed without opposition.

John announced the results of the Board of Trustees election:

•	John Hochheimer	175
•	Jasper Barnett	149
•	Kevin Johnson	144
•	Steve Lubliner	115
•	Matt Johnson	39

John, Kevin, and Jasper were declared elected to the Board. John thanked outgoing trustee Steve Lubliner for his service and welcomed Jasper to the Board.

The proposed changes to the NAR Bylaws were ratified by a vote of 126-5. Key changes include changing the Leader member category to Young Adult, changing the Young Adult age range to 16-23, and adding up to two Young Adult trustees to the Board. The complete Bylaws, as amended, may be found at https://www.nar.org/wp-content/uploads/2023/04/NAR-Bylaws.pdf.

Member Concerns

Following up on the safety discussion, Jasper Barnett pointed out that rockets are not the only things that can cause safety concerns on the field. There may be other reasons to contact emergency services, such as personal injury to a participant. He suggested having first aid equipment available at the flying field.

From the chat room, Bob Kaplow raised some concerns about the Bylaws changes and social media. The discussion ended with the possibility of continuing the topic.

Bob also asked about bringing back the "Needs Fixing" report, which was used as a communication vehicle during Mark Bundick's tenure as NAR President. John said that he would talk to the Section Activities chair about the possibility of reinstating that report. Mark Bundick himself pointed out that the communications environment today is very different from when he was NAR President, and that John has tools that weren't available to him during his tenure. Mark added that if today's communication tools were sufficient to John's needs, he saw no need to return to the tools of the past.

Jasper Barnett moved to close the business meeting. Lynn Thomas seconded. Motion passed without opposition.

John moved on to the "State of the NAR" presentation. (The slides may be found at nar.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/07/State-of-the-NAR-Aug-2023.pdf) The NAR is good shape, in a strong financial position, with a good group of key volunteers, and membership growing in key demographics.

John thanked the NAR's employees and contractors: Marie Stumpe, HQ manager; Todd Schweim, Director of Member Communications and Publishing; Jon Bolden, Webmaster; Anne Heacock, Accounting; Mayra Marquez, HPR Certification Support, and Monica Rooker, Social Media.

The NAR has 9347 members as of the time of the Town Hall, up about 500 over this time last year. The most significant growth is in the Leader (now Young Adult) category, up 156 over six months ago. A graph of NAR membership by age range shows a bimodal distribution with pronounced modes in the 15-25 and 55-75 age ranges. The mean age of NAR members is 45 and the median age is 49.

High power certifications for the first half of 2023 were as follows:

January	73
February	85
March	100
April	202
May	149
June	105
July	121

John noted that there were nearly 150 Level 1 certifications in April alone.

John expressed his opinion that HPR certification should be a journey rather than a race to the finish. "Build experience as you make the journey," he emphasized. He thanked Jim Wilkerson for his work as the Board's liaison to the HPR Committee.

John noted that the NAR currently has 240 active Sections. A total of \$10,185 has been awarded to 43 Sections so far this year. John thanked Chuck Neff and Ed Chess for their work as Section Activities Committee chair and Section Grants manager, respectively.

John announced the 2023 Section Website Excellence Awards:

- First place: Monroe Astronautical Rocket Society (MARS), Bill Clune, Webmaster
- Second place: Southern Area Rocketry (SoAR), Roy Green, Webmaster
- Third place: Huntsville Area Rocketry Association (HARA), William (Bill) Cooke, Webmaster
- Fourth place: Summit City Aerospace Modelers (SCAM), Dave Porter, Webmaster

• Fifth place: South Western (Ontario) Association of Rocket Modelers (SWARM), Chris Halinaty, Webmaster

John also recognized the following individuals:

- Tom Beach, for 25+ years as editor of *Sport Rocketry*
- Dan Wolf, for his service as Contest Board chair, and Al de la Iglesia, for taking over from Dan as the new chair
- Vince Huegele, for his 20 years of service as Education Committee chair, and Robyn Jackson, for volunteering to serve as the new Education Committee chair.

John announced the creation of the Orville Carlisle Award, honoring one of the founders of our hobby. The Carlisle Award will recognize significant technical contributions to the hobby. The first recipient of the award was George Gassaway, who passed away earlier this summer.

John announced the recipients of the 2023 NAR scholarships and grants:

Gleda M. Estes Scholarship for the Advancement of Young Women in STEM 2023 (\$3,000) Ashley Van Milligan, University of North Texas, Biomedical Engineering

Jay Apt Endowed Scholarship 2023 (\$2,000)

Jayla Wyant, Missouri Southern State University, Biology

Fehskens Memorial Scholarship 2023 (\$2,000)

Rebecca Zurek, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Aerospace Engineering

NAR Scholarship Recipients 2023 (\$2,000)

Nathan Engman, Bethel University, Mechanical Engineering

Aidan Henbest, Worcester Polytechnic University, Data Science

Yui Matsumoto, University of Michigan, Engineering

Miles McCortney, Rochester Institute of Technology, Mechanical Engineering - Aerospace Focus,

Political Science, Russian Language/Culture

Sunjum Mehta, University of Maryland College Park, Aerospace Engineering

Noah Milivojevic, University of Alabama in Huntsville, Aerospace Engineering

Katelyn Morgan, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Aerospace Engineering

Danielle Price, University of Cincinnati, Aerospace Engineering

Dylan Tichy, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Aerospace Engineering

Madelyn Torrans, Cedarville University, Mechanical Engineering

Robert Cannon Educator Grants 2023 (\$500)

David Duffield, Vanguard High School NJROTC, Ocala, FL Trina Forrest, Dr. John C. Page School, West Newbury, MA Richard Heggan, Medford Lakes Neeta School, Medford, NJ Jason Huffman, Irmo High School, Columbia, SC Jerry Iacona, William A Robinson School, Hamilton, NJ Robyn Jackson, Challenger Learning Center, Columbia, SC Michael O'Connell, Chester Middle School, Chester, SD Vita Segars, Heyward Gibbes Middle School, Columbia, SC

NAR Extracurricular Activity Grants 2023 (\$500)

Aaron Dimock, St. Peter High School, St. Peter, MN

Henry LaFever, Beartooth Composite Squardron, Billings, MT Andrew Smith, Dorothy McElhinney Middle School, Murrieta, CA Wacey Stavinoha, Shaw Space Program, Pasadena, TX

The Town Hall adjourned at 9:03 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Mark Wise, Secretary